Every year, the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations presents two awards to recognise excellence in the ALS/MND community. The awards are described below, along with a list of previous winners.

Nominations for each of the awards are considered from 1 May through 1 October annually; the awards are presented each year during the opening ceremony of the International Symposium on ALS/MND.

Click here to download the 2016 Forbes Norris Award Nomination Form.
Click here to download the 2016 Humanitarian Award Nomination Form.

People and organisations who work with ALS/MND are encouraged to identify exceptional contributors in the field and nominate them as potential recipients of these awards. For more information, contact the General Manager at

The Forbes Norris Award

The Forbes Norris Award, first presented in 1994, honours the memory of Dr. Forbes “Ted” Norris (1928 – 1993), a neurologist who dedicated his career to helping people with ALS/MND. The purpose of this prestigious Award is to encourage a combination of two major qualities: management of and advances in understanding ALS/MND, to the benefit of people living with the disease.

1404441_1486801634877289_129575368_oThe recipient of the 2015 Forbes Norris Award was Dr. Terry Heiman-Patterson. Dr. Heiman-Patterson has been working in ALS/MND care and research for more than 30 years. She established and still directs one of the largest and most comprehensive ALS/MND clinics in the world, the MDA/ALS Center of Hope. In this role, she sets an example for all clinicians through her unwavering optimism, respect for patient autonomy and responsiveness to their needs. Through her research, she has improved the community’s understanding of SOD1 mouse models, non-invasive ventilation, nutrition in ALS/MND treatment and biomarkers. She continues to be a thought-leader in this field, with major national and international roles at ALS Untangled, the National ALS Research Group, the Northeast ALS Consortium (which she Co-Chairs) and the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations. Dr. Heiman-Patterson is a highly accomplished physician and scientist who has retained her compassion for people with ALS/MND, while also contributing to the scientific pursuit of new insights into the causes and treatments of this disease.

Previous Winners

1994 Professor Vincent Meininger

1995 Dr. Teepu Siddique

1996 Dr. Donald Mulder

1997 Professor Nigel Leigh

1998 Dr. Hiroshi Mitsumoto

1999 Dr. Andrew Eisen

2000 Professor Michael Swash

2001 Dr. Lewis P. (Bud) Rowland

2002 Professor Vianney DeJong

2003 Dr. Robert H. Brown

2004 Dr. Robert G. Miller

2005 Dr. Stanley Appel

2006 Dr. Walter G. Bradley

2007 Dame Professor Pamela Shaw

2008 Dr. Michael Strong

2009 Professor Christopher Shaw

2010 Dr. Edward Kasarskis

2011 Professor Orla Hardiman

2012 Dr. Benjamin Brooks

2013 Dr. Leonard van den Berg

2014 Dr. Matthew Kiernan


The Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award was inaugurated in 2000 by the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations to recognise a non-scientific contribution to the fight against ALS/MND. The Humanitarian Award is intended to recognise and encourage individuals and/or groups whose work makes, or has made, a contribution of international significance for people affected by ALS/MND.

Dr. Jesus MoraThe recipient of the 2015 Humanitarian Award was Jesus Mora. Dr. Jesus Mora is Spain’s premier pioneer in the struggle for a world without ALS/MND. He is a neurologist and Director of the only multidisciplinary ALS/MND clinic in Spain, located in Madríd. He has worked tirelessly throughout his career to educate the people of Spain and abroad about ALS/MND and to find ways to improve the quality of life and care for people with this disease, both nationally and internationally. As a founding member of the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations and a global advocate, Jesus Mora has fought for the rights and lives of people with ALS/MND all over the world. Although he is a clinician and researcher, his contributions extend beyond the world of science. He has brought Spain to the forefront of the international ALS/MND community and has promoted collaboration between organizations for people living with ALS/MND across Spain, Europe and the world.


Previous Winners

2000 The MND Association of England, Wales and Northern Ireland

2001 Yuko Matsuoka

2002 Dee Holden Norris

2003 Dr. David Oliver

2005 The MND Association of South Africa

2006 Mrs. Misao Hashimoto

2007 Tricia Holmes

2008 Rodney Harris

2009 Professor Kathy Mitchell

2010 Jette Moeller

2011 Danny Reviers and Mia Mahy

2012 Gudjon Sigurdsson

2013 Dr. Jeffrey Dietch

2014 Wendy Abrams