Congratulations, Winners!

Every year, the Alliance is proud to present two special awards during the Opening Ceremony of the International Symposium on ALS/MND.

On December 8, 2017, at the Westin Boston Waterfront, we presented this year’s Humanitarian and Forbes Norris Awards to a crowd of nearly 1,300 attendees.

The Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognises a non-scientific contribution to the global ALS/MND community. In 2017, we were honored to recognise Peter Frates, Patrick Quinn and Anthony Senerchia, Jr., the founders of the Ice Bucket Challenge. The IBC raised over $200 million worldwide, making it the single largest fundraising idea in ALS/MND history. Moreover, the notoriety of the IBC has raised awareness of ALS/MND on a global scale. Pete, Pat and Anthony, 3 people living with ALS/MND, were the creators of the Challenge, and they have made a remarkable contribution to our community. Sadly, Anthony Senerchia, Jr., lost his battle with ALS/MND on November 25, 2017, at the age of 46.

This year, Alliance Chairman Steve Bell presented the Humanitarian Award. Nancy Frates – Peter’s mother – accepted the award bowl in-person, on behalf of the three families. Watch a brief interview with Steve and Nancy on Twitter. (Thanks @mndassoc!)

Steve Bell and Nancy Frates

Steve Bell presents the Humanitarian Award to Nancy Frates, accepting on behalf of the winners

The Forbes Norris Award

The Forbes Norris Award honors the memory of Dr. Forbes “Ted” Norris by recognising a neurologist who has shown exceptional dedication to caring for people with ALS/MND and conducting research to find a cure. The 2017 Forbes Norris Award winner was Dr. Merit Cudkowicz, a committed and compassionate clinician and researcher. Among her many accomplishments, Dr. Cudkowicz is the Chief of Neurology and Director of the ALS Clinic at Massachusetts General Hospital, and she was the co-founder of NEALS

Dr. Mamede de Carvalho, the 2016 Forbes Norris winner, introduced the award in Boston. Although Dr. Cudkowicz couldn’t be with us to accept her award bowl in-person, she shared this heartfelt message. We thank Merit for her dedicated service to people with ALS/MND.

Merit Cudkowicz

Dr. Merit Cudkowicz

Congratulations to this year’s winners. Thank you for being a part of the global fight against ALS/MND.